top of page

Pomperaug River Watershed Coalition Announces Board Appointments

Frank Sherer

​​At its Annual Meeting the Pomperaug River Watershed Coalition (PRWC) elected Frank Sherer, Jr. (Woodbury) and Dan Slywka (Southbury) to its Board of Directors.

Frank Sherer served over 25 years as Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Secretary, at Timex Group, B.V. Frank concurrently was Senior Vice President, Human Resources, Timex, and is the former Chairman of Timex Group India. He is a graduate of Yale University and Boston University School of Law.

Frank actively serves his community on the boards of directors of Timex Group and Flanders Nature Center and Land Trust and is a member of the Woodbury Historic Commission. He is also a former board member of the United Way of Greater Waterbury, Waterbury Hospital and a former member of the Woodbury Charter Revision Commission.

Streamside Buffer

​​Dan Slywka is an Environmental Scientist with EnergySolutions and a Vegetable Farmer at Daffodil Hill Growers in Southbury. He is a graduate of Teikyo Post University where his curriculum focus was environmental science and biology.

Dan also actively serves his community on the Town of Southbury Inland Wetlands Commission and the Agricultural Sub-Committee of the Economic Commission. He is a long time outdoorsman having enjoyed the Pomperaug River as a child and still so today. Dan has a keen interest in both conserving and protecting natural resources.

Vince McDermott, PRWC Board Chairman, emphasized that “in electing Frank and Dan to the Board of Directors we are welcoming individuals with the highest credentials and a demonstrated commitment to sharing their respective skill sets to strengthen their communities through volunteer support.” He went on to say “that PRWC will benefit immensely from their proven professional and leadership capabilities. Both Frank and Dan are strong additions to the PRWC team and will complement our work of using science, research and educational outreach to promote the protection of our water resources.”

During the Annual Meeting the Board of Directors also re-elected Dr. Marianne Bette (Southbury) and Chris Wood (Woodbury) to serve new terms on the Board. The Board elected its slate of officers including Vince McDermott (Bethlehem) as chairman, Joe Eisenberg (Woodbury) and Gail McTaggart (Southbury) as co-vice chairs and John Lacadie (Woodbury) as secretary/ treasurer.

The Board of Directors also recognized outgoing Board members Virginia Mason and Fred Sell for their significant contributions to the Board and for their many years of volunteer service and environmental stewardship dedicated to the protection of the Pomperaug River water resources.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Instagram App Icon
  • Pinterest App Icon
bottom of page